XO • Highlands • Deep Fields

XO • Highlands • Deep Fields

Wed June 5, 2019 8:00 pm

Resident Los Angeles, CA


This event is 21 and over

XO, Highlands, Deep Fields

The shoegazing alternative rock band XO is composed of Jake Turner (bass/vocals), Jeff Turner (vocals/guitar), and Alan Connor (drums). Started by twin brothers in Peachtree City, Georgia the fall of 2004. They found themselves in the American emo/pop punk scene by the next year, releasing demos like “Race Car” and “Stars” on the website’s PureVolume and MySpace. Jake and Jeff joined the band Say Anything as guitar and vocalists in 2005. They toured in support of the album, …Is A Real Boy all of 2006 and 2007. The Some Day EP (2008) was recorded with Matt Malpass in Atlanta, Georgia during breaks in touring. XO self-released the EP on CD. Amy Fleisher from Fiddler Records / Animal Manufacturing Co. was taken by the EP. She released the “Blizzard (New York)” digital single late 2008 and re-released the Some Day EP early 2009 with updated artwork. In late 2009 Animal Manufacturing Co. released The Tokyo Single which included remixes of the synth-heavy “My Beautiful Girl (Tokyo)” and unreleased/remastered demos “Friends” and “Tie Me Up”. XO performed in the Atlanta area opening for Lydia, The Rocket Summer, and The Almost. Also performing several Atlanta-metro headlining shows with Red Sea, Small Reactions, and o'brother. Demoing for XO’s first album, Heart, began in 2011. The band relocated to Long Beach, California in 2012. New York’s Equal Vision Records / Rory Records signed XO after hearing the initial bedroom demos. The album was recorded at Hurley Recordings studio, Costa Mesa, California in 2012. Parker Case (Jamison Parker, Say Anything, Motion City Soundtrack) co-produced the 11 songs that make up their debut album, Heart. The sound incorporated reverb and delay, stacked vocals, lush guitars, doubled drums, and aimed at creating a Phil Spector worthy wall of sound. The 7″ single “Fault/No Feeling” was released by Equal Vision Records/Rory Records on red/white swirl vinyl in 2013. XO’s debut album, Heart, was released on black vinyl, 500 pressed, in 2014 through Equal Vision Records/Rory Records. Los Angeles based label Touch Tapes pressed a limited edition 100 cassettes in 2015. XO has performed extensively in Southern California with artists such as The Appleseed Cast, Froth, The Bilinda Butchers, Slumberland Records Sea Lions, Teenage Wristt, BURGER RECORDS / lolipop records Channel, SPINDRIFT, topographies, Tennis System, and Gold Cage. Demos for the bands second album were finished in 2015. In May 2016, XO entered the Hurley Recordings studio to track their follow up album, co-produced by Jon Berry (Rufio). In October of 2017 XO released a new song “TV You” under their own label, Twin Waves Records. January 2018 they posted a band photo with new drummer, Alan Connor. In July 2018 XO announced their release of their live in-studio recordings, PART TIME PUNKS Sessions, featuring four My Bloody Valentine covers and four originals, including one unreleased song. The sessions was released as a limited edition cassette tape pressing of 100 in August of 2018. XO released their sophomore album, Wonder, on April 19th 2019. Released as a limited edition cassette tape pressing of 100.

XO, Highlands, Deep Fields Official Website


Subscribe to the RESIDENT DTLA Newsletter.